Why hello midlife crisis, nice to meet you

Hello again.

I have been doing a lot of soul searching lately. I didn’t realize thats what I was doing, but looking back I can see it.

I struggled with things. Video gaming, and how much time I spent on it. Sitting mindlessly in front of the television was another thing. Most of all, I kept thinking back to a simple comment my dad said years ago.

“Is what you are doing today really that important? After all, you are trading a day of your life for it.”

Now, I can’t remember the context of what we are talking about at the time. I do however remember that shortly after that we tossed some sandwiches and sodas in the trunk of the car and headed to the lake to spend the rest of the day fishing.

There is a lot that I do in my life that as I look back really doesn’t matter all that much. Many days that were simply wasted. I don’t regret the things I did on those days as much as I wish I had the time back, so I could spend it doing something else.

It’s almost like I can see the rest of my days as grains of sand in an hourglass, slowly but inexorably draining away.

Apparently this is what A midlife crisis feels like. Awesome.

Some folks reach this point and decide that they are going to try to go back in time. They get themselves a sports car, or a flashy motorcycle, or something of the like. They go out looking to hang with a younger crowd, doing things they once did.

I suppose in a way thats kind of how I’m feeling right now as well.

I have always loved the outdoors. I have camped, fished, hiked, hunted, etc, all my life.

My interest in that had waned in recent years, as work and kids in school and all the other things that make up my daily life took up my time. Now, as he kids get older and life is settling down a bit my interest is back.

It’s back, and stronger than ever.

I expect that over the next little while I will be transforming this site into something that fits more in with that newfound enthusiasm. The Warcraft posts will be copied over to my old Warcraft blog, Dechion’s Place, and deleted from this site.

The “how to” section at the top will no longer be about leveling a Resto Shamen or making gold in the WoW auction house. It will be more about how to do DIY projects for my new activities.

Anyhow, thanks for bearing with me as both the site and the guy behind the keyboard are changing.

Leave a Reply

